Dictionary of Youth Justice
Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment
Dictionary of Policing
Encyclopedia of Capital Punishment in the United States
Encyclopedia of Transnational Crime and Justice
Nolo's Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
The Encyclopedia of Criminology and Criminal Justice
The Handbook of Criminological Theory
The Cambridge Handbook of Violent Behavior and Aggression
Essential Criminology
Understanding Crime Trends
Surveying Victims
Measurement Problems in Criminal Justice Research
Deadly Lessons
Black and Blue
The Concept and Measurement of Violence
How America Got Its GunsHelpful Subject Headings: Copy and Paste into the Library Search Box
Criminology and Public Policy
Crime
Deviant Behavior
Behavioral and Social Sciences -- Law and Justice
Behavioral and Social Sciences -- Women and Minorities
Prison and Punishment
Policing or police or law enforcement
Each Branch library is arranged according the the Library of Congress Classification system. Once you know the general area where books on your topic are kept, it can be very effective to browse the shelves. How to read a call number
HV1-9960 Social pathology. Social and public welfare. Criminology
HV6001-7220.5 Criminology
HV6035-6197 Criminal anthropology Including criminal types, criminal psychology, prison psychology
HV6201-6249 Criminal classes
HV6250-6250.4 Victims of crimes. Victimology
HV6251-6773.55 Crimes and offenses
HV6774-7220.5 Crimes and criminal classes
HV7231-9960 Criminal justice administration
HV7435-7439 Gun control
HV7551-8280.7 Police. Detectives. Constabulary
HV8073-8079.35 Investigation of crimes. Examination and identification of prisoners
HV8079.2-8079.35 Police social work
HV9261-9430.7 Reformation and reclamation of adult prisoners