Renaissance & Reformation HIS 305: Finding Primary Sources

Pre-set Limiters:

EBSCOhost Databases:

ProQuest Databases:

• EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History

  Includes "selected transcriptions, facsimiles and translations" documenting European history from ancient through modern times (from Brigham Young University).
• Internet Modern History Sourcebook

  A section of this site is dedicated to primary sources from the Renaissance, Reformation, Enlightenment and Scientific Revolution
• Internet Islamic History Sourcebook

  Contains information and primary sources about the Islamic world from Pre-History through modern times (from Fordham University).
• Hanover Historical Texts Project

  According to the site, "the Project's principal aim is to make primary texts readily available to students and faculty for use in history and humanities courses" (from Hanover College History Department).
  Sources are available for the Reformation, the Catholic Reformation, and the Religious Wars.
• Christian Classics Ethereal Library

  Try browsing by subject (early church) or author (which lists their dates). Contains a lot of information about the early church (from Calvin College).
• British History Online

  Includes information on local history (by country, parish, or region), Parliament, religious history, as well as historical urban and geographical information.
• German History in Documents and Images

  "German History in Documents and Images (GHDI) is a comprehensive collection of original historical materials documenting German history from the beginning of the early modern period to the present."
  Oral histories, letters, speeches and other documents related to Nazi Germany are included in the collection.
• World Digital Library

  Provides access to "significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world." It is browsable by time, topic, place, type and institution. Site includes a wealth of manuscripts, maps, rare books, films, sound recordings, as well as prints and photographs.