Skip to main content

Topics in Health Education: Finding Articles

Research Starters and Materials For the Health Profession, School Health and Physical Education

Best Databases for Journal Articles

Additional Databases for Journal Articles

How to Search for electronic articles (magazines, newspapers, and journals)

Open Access

EBSCO Open Access Journals

EBSCO Open Access Medical and Health Collection

 

Searching Tutorials

How to find legal cases and other legal resources

1. LexisNexis Academic - contains federal and state case law, law reviews, federal statutes and regulations, state statutes and regulations, and legal reference sources (AMJur2 encycylopedia, selected dictionaries and treatises). Additional help on using Lexis Nexis Search features is available at:

  • http://wiki.lexisnexis.com/academic/index.php?title=Academic_Help:_Getting_Started
  • http://wiki.lexisnexis.com/academic/index.php?title=Boolean_Searching (Boolean operators, wildcards/truncation, connectors, etc.)


2. Google Scholar - search "Case Law." Includes a "How Cited" feature.


3. US Court cases on FDsys - The Judicial Conference approved national implementation of the project in September 2012, expanding participation from the original 29 courts. FDsys currently contains opinions from 8 appellate courts, 20 district courts, and 35 bankruptcy courts. Collections on FDsys are divided into appellate, district or bankruptcy court opinions. FDsys also allows embedded animation and audio – an innovation previously only available with opinions posted on a court’s own website or on the Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER). While the public already can view federal court opinions for free on PACER, the FDSys project presents just another way to make court-related information more accessible to the public.
 

4. PACER system - is available to anyone who registers for an account. Contains case and docket information for all district, bankruptcy, and appellate courts. PACER currently hosts 500 million case file documents. Access to court documents costs $0.10 per page. The cost to access a single document is capped at $3.00, the equivalent of 30 pages. The cap does not apply to name searches, reports that are not case-specific and transcripts of federal court proceedings. By Judicial Conference policy, if your usage does not exceed $15 in a quarter, fees for that quarter are waived, effectively making the service free for most users.

In-Library Magazines, Newpapers, and Journals

All issues are shelved alphabetically by Journal Title:

ACSM's Health and Fitness -- Coach & Athletic Director -- Collegiate Baseball

Journal of Applied Sport Management -- Journal of Facility Planning, Design, and Managment

Journal of Sports Behavior -- Sports Illustrated -- Sports Spectrum -- Street & Smith's Sportbusiness Journal

Wall Street Journal - The Jones Library has hardcopy for current month.