Skip to main content

Faculty & Staff Information Guide: Information Literacy

Request a Info Session

Request an information literacy session with a librarian for your class. CLICK HERE

Basics Covered for Information Literacy

Basics that are covered during a session:

  • Very brief orientation of the library website
  • Finding physical books using the Library catalog 
  • Brief introduction to Databases
    • Address Question: With so many databases listed, how do students decide what database to use?
    • Brief intro to  Database(s) relevant to the class
  • Demonstrate search techniques using several databases that might be relevant for the class
    • Demonstrate how to limit results (e.g., full-text, date)
    • Demonstrate how to email full-text journal articles to yourself along with the citation
    • How to narrow search terms and use subject headings or the database thesaurus to dig deeper into a topic
  • How to use Full-Text Finder (E-Journals on the library website) find out if LBC has an article the student finds in a reference list of another article.
  • How to request a journal article via interlibrary loan when LBC does not own the article
  • Overview of the Research Guides & how they can assist the student in specific subject areas
  • Demonstrate a search in OneSearch that was done in a database earlier so the student can compare the search results with the results of the database search.
  • Facilitate students with hands-on search opportunity to search