Skip to main content

Inquiry Based College Research LAN 305: Databases & Tutorials

Credo Reference

Credo Logo

 

Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.

Issues and Controversies

Issues and Controversies

Issues and Controversies provides exclusive, extensive coverage of hundreds of today's hot topics, with unbiased analysis and rich related resources.

 

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary research database that provides access to more than 3,200 active full-text journals and magazines.

 

OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson)

OmniFile Full Text, Select Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing indexing, abstracts, and full text for all full text articles from 2,700+ different journals and periodicals included in 11 databases formerly published by H. W. Wilson Company:  Applied Science & Technology Full Text, Art Full Text, Biological & Agricultural Index Plus, Education Full Text, General Science Full Text, Humanities Full Text, Index to Legal Periodicals Full Text, Library Literature & Information Science Full Text, Readers' Guide Full Text, Social Sciences Full Text, and Wilson Business Full Text.

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from Dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.

Library Databases (A-Z)

Click here to get a complete list of the library databases.

Credo Reference Tutorial (Basic Search)

Academic Search Premier Tutorial

OED Tutorial (a short guide)