Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty & Staff Information Guide: Information Literacy

Request a Info Session

Request an information literacy session with a librarian for your class. CLICK HERE

Basics Covered for Information Literacy

Basics that are covered during a session:

  • Very brief orientation of the library website
  • Finding physical books using the Library Search Box
  • Brief introduction to Databases
    • Address Question: With so many databases listed, how do students decide what database to use?
    • Brief intro to  Database(s) relevant to the class
  • Demonstrate search techniques using several databases that might be relevant for the class
    • Demonstrate how to limit results (e.g., full-text, date)
    • Demonstrate how to email full-text journal articles to yourself along with the citation
    • How to narrow search terms and use subject headings or the database thesaurus to dig deeper into a topic
  • How to request a journal article via LBCShare when LBC does not own the article
  • Overview of the Research Guides & how they can assist the student in specific subject areas
  • Demonstrate a search in the Library Search Box that was done in a database earlier so the student can compare the search results with the results of the database search.
  • Facilitate students with hands-on search opportunity to search