Hot Topics: Juneteenth: Home

Databases

• American Civil War, 1855-1868 Periodical articles on the American Civil War covering the years before the war to the beginnings of Reconstruction.
• America: History and Life with Full Text Literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
• ProQuest One Academic Accesses all ProQuest databases (Dissertations, current articles in religion, archived academic articles in all subjects, and ebrary e-books
• News & Newspapers Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format.

Primary Sources

• Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 to 1938

  More than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves, via the Library of Congress.

• Photo Essay: Emancipation and the Meaning of Juneteenth

  From Oxford University Press, a photo essay examining meaning of emancipation for enslaved people during the Civil War and the ways their celebrations of that moment developed into the holiday Juneteenth.

• Primary Source Nexus: Juneteenth

  Links to primary source material on Juneteenth, including contemporary newspaper accounts, oral history interviews, and important legislation.

Podcasts

• 153 years of Juneteenth

  The Takeaway from WNYC Studios (June 19, 2018)

• Merry Juneteenth!

  The Peas in the Podcast S1 E6 (2018)

• Juneteenth: Texas Freedom Colonies

  A Little Louder podcast from Anchor S1 E 12 (2019)

Newspapers

• The Historical Legacy of Juneteenth

  By Tsione Wolde-Michael for NMAAHC (The Smithsonian National Museum of African American History & Culture)

Internet Resources

• What Is Juneteenth? African American History Blog

• The Historical Legacy of Juneteenth [National Museum of African American History & Culture]

• Celebrating Juneteenth Video Tour of Slavery and Freedom Exhibit [National Museum of African American History & Culture]

• Juneteenth (Chicago History Museum)

• Celebrating Juneteenth (Smithsonian)

• Emancipation Proclamation

• Juneteenth Fact Sheet (Congressional Research Services)

• Juneteenth (Texas State Archives Commission)

• Rosenberg Library Galveston & Texas History Center

  The Galveston and Texas History Center has many resources you can use to research African American life in Galveston up to Juneteenth (1865).

• National Archives To Display Emancipation Proclamation and ‘Juneteenth’ General Order No. 3, June 17–19

• Records of the Freedmen’s Bureau, established by Congress to help former Black slaves and poor Whites in the South in the aftermath of the Civil War. Read an article about efforts to preserve and digitize this collection.
• The Meaning and Making of Emancipation,” a free National Archives eBook