American Religious History HIS304: African American Religion

Physical Copies: All issues are shelved alphabetically by Journal Title at the Lancaster branch:

• AFRICAN AMERICAN PULPIT

eJournals: Copy and paste them into the search box on the library homepage. *Tip- select the Journals tab*

• African American Review
• Black Theology: An International Journal
• Journal of African American History
• Journal of Black Studies
• Black theology papers project.
• The journal of religious thought.

Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH) are a standardized thesaurus used to classify topics into related categories. These can be used in most library catalogs to quickly locate related materials. 

• African Americans Religion History.
• Afrocentrism Religious aspects Christianity History.
• Bible Black interpretations History.
• Black Theology
• Black theology History.
• African Americans Religion History.
• African American preaching History.

• African American theologians.

American Association for Ethiopian Jews Archives Online

Archives at Yale

Black Women's Suffrage Collection

Documenting the American South

The Church in the Southern Black Community

North American Slave Narratives

The Freedom Archives

Black Liberation Collection

Black Panther Party Community News Service Collection

The Library of Congress

Civil Rights History Project

Frederick Douglass Papers

The National Archives

Black Panther Party

Nation of Islam

Payne Theological Seminary Archives

Payne Theological Seminary and AME Church Archive

Presbyterian Historical Society

African American History Collection

Civil Rights, Protests, and Social Reformers Collection

Mother Bethel AME Church Collection

PCUSA African American Synods Collection

Library of Virginia

African American Church Histories

JSTOR

Archival Sources for Afro-American Church History

African American Trail Project Tufts University

Select Sites

AME History in the Making

Mapping Black Religion

This Far by Faith: African American Spiritual Journeys

 

Eric Watkins	Charles Octavius Boothe	Keith Augustus Burton
Kelly Brown Douglas	Carl Ellis	K.A. Ellis
Cain Hope Felder	Bruce L. Fields	Lisa Fields
Lemuel Haynes	Fannie Lou Hamer	Robert E. Hood
Dwight N. Hopkins	Howard Thurman	Gardner Taylor
Mitzi Smith	Love Sechrest	Dwight McKissic Sr.
Benjamin Elijah Mays	Donald H. Matthews	Willie James Jennings
Mahalia Jackson	Phyllis Wheatley	Richard allen
Martin Luther King Jr	C. T. Vivian	George Liele
Rev. Henry Highland Garnet	Rev. Alexander Crummell	Charles Price Jones

William Seymour	Nathaniel Paul	James W. C. Pennington
A. W. Hanson	Augustus Washington	J. Deotis Roberts