Research Guides: Christian Perspectives: Explorations of the Fairy tale HUM 422: Assignments

Contemporary Authors Accessible through the Public Library
Discover biographical and bibliographical information on more than 160,000 of today's most influential authors, including:

Academic Video Online (AVON) This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive video subscription delivering more than 62,000 titles in anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, it includes a variety of content-types, such as documentaries, films, and demonstrations.
https://proquest.libguides.com/asmultimedia
Films On Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a digital video streaming service which offers access to over 46,000 titles and 300,000 segmented clips. These educational videos are from a variety of producers, including A&E, PBS, BBC Learning, and National Geographic.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is an online resource of current events and social issues. While it covers a wide range of resources for most majors, it is especially helpful in providing information from different viewpoints on debatable issues.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Global Newsstream enables users to search the most recent global news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full- text format.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 5,000 journals.

Assignments

Students will present evidence of Writing Center review on their final Literary Analysis Essays.

More information about the Writing Services: https://www.lbc.edu/academics/ally-center-resources/#writing

Schedule an Appointment

Annotated Bibliography - Students will select a text or author from the course reading list and complete an MLA-style annotated bibliography of at least ten scholarly secondary sources related to that topic

In at least 2000 words and in MLA style, students must present or argue for a compelling, substantive interpretation of one or more primary literary texts relevant to the course content. Essays must include direct interaction with at least one primary source and at least four print scholarly/academic secondary sources

Literary Review The Writing Center, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Literary Analysis Essay Rubric

Your media review should be at least 1,000 content words in length. In this review, you should look at the ways in which one recent form of contemporary media (film, TV series/episode, song/album, contemporary fiction, video game, etc.) interacts with a specific fairy tale. (The media is your "artifact," the fairy tale your "text.") Below, you can see a basic outline:

Introduction (Provide background on the production of the text and/or artifact--how it/they came to be produced. Lead into a thesis statement at the end of the paragraph)
1. IA. Thesis statement: A concise, clear, accurate statement of your overall analysis of the relationship between text and artifact. (End of the introduction)
A summary of the text (the particular version you are using, if it exists in multiple forms)
A summary or description of the artifact
In one or more paragraph, compare or contrast the relationship of the text and the artifact. Is there evidence the text directly influenced the artifact? What are their similarities? What are their differences? What is the significance of the similarities and the differences--both artistically and philosophically? Is one or the other "better" (or more "Christian"), or are they each equally valuable (or equally problematic)?
Conclusion: Tie all your strands together and recapitulate. Examine the overall significance of your thesis: So what? Why is it important to know what you are bringing out?

This essay should be written in formal academic diction, unless quoting texts/artifacts that use informal/conversational language. A well-developed paragraph should be at least five full substantive sentences in length.

Media Review Rubric