Skip to Main Content

English Language and Literature: Databases

NEW DATABASE

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints is an online resource of current events and social issues. While it covers a wide range of resources for most majors, it is especially helpful in providing information from different viewpoints on debatable issues.

Best Resources for Articles & Essays

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 5,000 journals.
Credo Reference (Academic Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Over 700 encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and reference handbooks.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a interdisciplinary database of full text journals.
OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including peer-reviewed articles.
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new window
Accesses all ProQuest databases (Dissertations, current articles in religion, archived academic articles in all subjects, and ebrary e-books)

Featured English & Language Journals

Listed bellow is a small example of electronic journals about Literature & Writing available on the library website:

College Composition & Communication

Communication Education

The Writing Instructor

Modern Language Quarterly

Keyword Search for Finding Articles

Children’s literature
Literacy Criticism
Women Writers
Feminism and Literature
Novella
African-American Women Writers
Literary movements
Shakespeare
Short Story
Poetry
American Literature
English Literature
Literature
Literary movements
Non-Fiction
American women and writers
Feminism and Literature
Drama
American women and literature
Literacy
Fiction

Journals, Magazines and Newspapers

Physical Copies: All issues are shelved alphabetically by Journal Title at the Lancaster branch:

All issues are shelved alphabetically by Journal Title:

BOOKS & CULTURE
COLLEGE COMPOSITION & COMMUNICATION
COLLEGE ENGLISH
COMPARATIVE LITERATURE
ENGLISH EDUCATION
ELH
ELT JOURNAL
ENGLISH JOURNAL
ENGLISH LEADERSHIP QUARTERLY
ESSAYS IN CRITICISM
JOURNAL OF ADOLESCENT & ADULT LITERACY
LANGUAGE ARTS
LANGUAGE LEARNING
MODERN FICTION STUDIES
MODERN LANGUAGE REVIEW
MODERN PHILOLOGY
NINETEENTH-CENTURY LITERATURE
NORTHERN LIGHTS
PMLA
POETRY
READING TODAY
RESEARCH IN THE TEACHING OF ENGLISH
TEACHING ENGLISH IN THE TWO-YEAR COLLEGE
WRITER