Experiential Learning Health Care Management HCM370: Websites

HEALTH STATISTICS:

• National Center for Health Statistics From the Centers for Disease Control, provides national health statistics, including vital records, population surveys, provider surveys.
• FastStats From the Center for Disease Control, health related population statistics.
• Global Health Observatory From the World Health Organization, health statistics by country.
• Health and Medical Care Data Archive From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Focuses on healthcare professionals, and the delivery of healthcare.
• Bone and Joint Initiative A non-profit organization that focuses on bone and joint health and offers statistics on this.
• CDC Wonder Published documents on public health, including reports, articles, recommendations and guidelines, as well as statistical research and data sets, reference materials and bibliographies on health-related topics.
• WISQARS CDC’s WISQARS™ is an interactive, online database that provides fatal and nonfatal injury, violent death, and cost of injury data. Researchers, the media, public health professionals, and the public can use WISQARS™ data to learn more about the public health and economic burden associated with unintentional and violence-related injury in the United States.

COST AND SPENDING:

• Health Insurance U.S. Census Bureau Provides reports on health insurance coverage on state and national level.
• Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services Regulations, guidance, research, statistics, and data from the Health and Human Services Department.
• Dartmouth Atlas Data Provides research and statistics on healthcare spending in the U.S.
• Health Insurance Statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau Offers health insurance statistics collected from Census Bureau surveys.
• State Health Facts from Kaiser Family Foundation Healthcare statistics including providers, payers and more.

PROVIDERS:

• AHA Health and Hospital Trends View reports from the American Hospital Association.
• AMA's Practice Management Tools The American Medical Association's practice management solutions and tools for physicians.
• Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care A project that analyzes Medicare data and monitors its use.
• Fast Facts on U.S. Hospitals From the American Hospital Association. Provides statistics from their annual survey of hospitals.
• Medical Group Management Association Association for medical practice administrators. Has information on management, operations and risk management.
• National Hospital Discharge Survey Provides information on characteristics of inpatients discharged from hospital stays.

• Official Codes from CMMS

• Physician Fee Schedule from the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services Reimbursement rates for various procedures. Official medial codes are needed to search for procedures.

• American Association of Healthcare Administrative Management Resource center for information, education and advocacy in the areas of reimbursement, admitting and registration, data management, medical records, patient relations and so much more.

• American College of Healthcare Executives Professional society for healthcare executives dedicated to improving health.

• American Hospital Association The American Hospital Association (AHA) is the national organization that represents and serves all types of hospitals, health care networks, and their patients and communities.

• National Rural Health Association The association’s mission is to provide leadership on rural health issues through advocacy, communications, education and research.

• National Association Directors of Nursing Administration in Long Term Care The mission of NADONA is to be the leading professional organization for current and aspiring nursing leaders thru professional development, board certification, and clinical expertise related to the promotion of health and wellness of individuals in the long term care and post-acute care continuum.

• Association for Healthcare Administrative Professionals | AHCAP) AHCAP is a not-for-profit healthcare organization dedicated to executive assistants, administrative assistants, and other professionals who support our nation’s healthcare leaders. By supporting them, we support the industry - and strive to enhance the healthcare experience on every level.

• Health Care Administrators Association The Health Care Administrators Association is the nation’s most prominent nonprofit trade association supporting education, networking, resource and advocacy needs of third-party administrators (TPAs), stop loss insurance carriers, managing general underwriters, audit firms, medical managers, technology organizations, pharmacy benefit managers, brokers/agents, human resource managers and health care consultants.

• Professional Association of Health Care Office Management PAHCOM is a national organization dedicated to promoting professionalism in physician office practice by providing professional development opportunities, continuing education in health care office management principles and practice, and certification for health care office managers.

Data Catalogs and Search Platforms

• data.gov Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more.
• Data Tools from the National Center for Education Statistics The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. NCES is located within the U.S. Department of Education and the Institute of Education Sciences. NCES fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally. Navigate to Data & Tools > Raw Data to view more.
• Dryad Dryad provides access to the datasets associated with published research articles. You can search for the title of an article to see if their data is published in Dryad, or you can search for a specific topic or keyword to see which datasets are available in this area.
• Google Dataset Search Google Dataset Search enables users to find datasets through a simple keyword search. It uses schema.org for discovery.
• Harvard Dataverse Harvard Dataverse is a free data repository open to all researchers from any discipline, both inside and outside of the Harvard community, where you can share, archive, cite, access, and explore research data. Each individual dataverse is a customizable collection of datasets (or a virtual repository) for organizing, managing, and showcasing datasets.
• HealthData.Gov The HealthData.gov site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all.
• ICPSR The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides access to datasets on a wide range of topics. It is especially useful for topics in the social sciences. While most datasets in ICPSR are free and publicly available, some of them may require you to create an account in order to download them.
• Kaggle Kaggle allows users to find and publish data sets, explore and build models in a web-based data-science environment. Click on "Datasets" to search dataset.
• Mendeley Data Mendeley Data is an open research data repository, where researchers can upload and share their research data. It is also a search engine indexing 20.5 million datasets from domain-specific and cross-domain repositories.

COVID Datasets

• CORD-19 Open Research Dataset The Semantic Scholar team at the Allen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to provide CORD-19, a free resource of more than 280,000 scholarly articles about the novel coronavirus for use by the global research community.
• COVID-19 Data Files from the CDC The data files are updated regularly as part of NCHS’s National Vital Statistics System’s COVID-19 Surveillance.
• Open Access COVID Data from the NIH COVID-19 open-access data and computational resources are being provided by federal agencies, including NIH, public consortia, and private entities. These resources are freely available to researchers.
• Consortium for Clinical Characterization of COVID-19 by EHR 4CE is an international consortium for electronic health record (EHR) data-driven studies of the COVID-19 pandemic. The goal of this effort—led by the i2b2 international academics users group—is to inform doctors, epidemiologists and the public about COVID-19 patients with data acquired through the health care process.

• US Department of Health and Human Services | Laws & Regulations Agencies create regulations (also known as "rules") under the authority of Congress to help government carry out public policy. Learn about HHS’ top regulations and how you can make your voice heard.
• Regulations.gov Source for information on the development of Federal regulations and other related documents issued by the U.S. government
• United States Code The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Health care policy and regulations fall under Title 42 (Public Health and Welfare).

STATE & NATIONAL STATISTICS:

• PLACES (formerly 500 Cities) PLACES, a collaboration between CDC, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the CDC Foundation, allows local health departments and jurisdictions regardless of population size and urban-rural status to better understand the burden and geographic distribution of health-related outcomes in their areas and assist them in planning public health interventions.
• AHRQ State Snapshots The State Snapshots provide state-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help state officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their state.
• State Health Compare by Shadac

  Shadac is a multidisciplinary health policy research center with a focus on state health policy. SHADAC is supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and is affiliated with the Health Policy and Management Division of the School of Public Health at the University of Minnesota.

• CDC State Snapshots Select a state to access information about programs, funding, chronic disease plans, statistics and data, risk factors and health indicators, and key contacts.
• HealthData.gov State Snapshots The State Snapshots provide graphical representations of State-specific health care quality information, including strengths, weaknesses, and opportunities for improvement. The goal is to help State officials and their public- and private-sector partners better understand health care quality and disparities in their State.
• Kaiser Family Foundation: State Health Facts Choose a category or a location to view health status indicators, risk factors, utilization, costs, and more.
• Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report - MMWR The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report is a weekly epidemiological digest for the United States published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It was originally established as Weekly Health Index in 1930, changing its title to Weekly Mortality Index in 1941 and Morbidity and Mortality in 1952. (From the MMWR page.)

• DataBank from the World Bank

  Draws on a variety of data sources including administrative statistics and household surveys compiled by the World Bank Group and its client countries, World Health Organization (WHO), United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) etc. Includes mortality, immunization, malnutrition, and more.

• OECD Environmental Statistics Database

  The OECD Environmental Statistics database provide a unique collection of policy-relevant environmental statistics, such as air quality and health and more.

• Pan American Health Organization (PAHO): Core Idicators

  Core Indicators 2019: Health Trends in the Americas is a milestone achievement. For a quarter of a century now PAHO has--through this publication, provided the latest information on key health and health-related indicators for the Region of the Americas. Data for 270+ indicators are published annually online, within the Core Indicators section of PAHO's Health Information Platform for the Americas (PLISA, according to the acronym in Spanish).

• UNdata

  The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched a new internet based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single entry point (http://data.un.org/). Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.

• World Bank: Data

  More than 7,000 indicators from the World Bank, including development and aid, education, infrastructure, labor, poverty, and science & technology.

• World Health Organization (WHO): Global Health Observatory

  World Health Organization’s portal of health statistics covering 194 member states. Contains over 1,000 health indicators that are organized to show progress toward WHO’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDG). SDGs include: maternal and child health, communicable disease, substance abuse, violence, environment, health coverage, healthcare workforce, and more.