Hispanic/Latino American Theologies: Internet Sources

CRAAP TEST WORKSHEET 

Use the following worksheet to help you evaluate your sources. Score each of the main categories 1 to 10 (1 = Worst; 10 = Best). Check your scores with the key at the bottom.

Currency: the timeliness of the information

• When was the information published or posted? 
• Has the information been revised or updated?
• Is the information current or out-of date for your topic?
• Are the links functional?

Score:________

Relevance: the importance of the information for your needs

• Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
• Who is the intended audience?
• Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
• Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
• Would you be comfortable using this source for a research paper?

Score:________

Authority: the source of the information

• Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
• Are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations given?
• What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations given?
• What are the author's qualifications to write on the topic?
• Is there contact information, such as a publisher or e-mail address?
• Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source? For example:
  • .com (commercial)
  • .edu (educational)
  • .gov (U.S. government)
  • .org (nonprofit organization)
  • .net (network)

Score:________

Accuracy: the reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content

• Where does the information come from?
• Is the information supported by evidence?
• Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
• Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
• Does the language or tone seem biased and free of emotion?
• Are there spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?

Score:________

Purpose: the reason the information exists 

• What is the purpose of the information? to inform? teach? sell? entertain? persuade?
• Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
• Is the information fact? opinion? propaganda?
• Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
• Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?

Score:________

 

 Total:________

45-50 Excellent

40-44 Good

 35-39 Average

 30-34 Borderline Acceptable

 Below 30 Unacceptable

Note: all credit for the CRAAP test goes to the librarians who developed it at Meriam Library at CSU Chico. 

Useful links

• Academy of Catholic Hispanic Theologians of the United States The Academy of Catholic Hispanic Theologians of the United States (ACHTUS) is an association of scholars dedicated to promoting research and critical theological reflection within the context of the U.S. Hispanic experience.

• Asociación para la Educación Teológica Hispana (AETH) AETH is an primarily Protestant organization that exists to stimulate dialogue and collaboration among theological educators, administrators of institutions for ministerial formation, and Christian ministerial students in the United States, Canada and Puerto Rico.

• Catholic Association of Latino Leadership The Catholic Association for Latino Leadership (CALL) is a non-profit organization created to mobilize Catholic Latinos, empowering them to become who God has called them to be, and inspiring them to lead their communities, our country, and the church. -- website.​

• Consejo Episcopal Latinoamericano (CELAM) The Conference of Latin American Bishops. This site provides access to important documents for theology and ministry in the context of Latin American Catholicism

• Library of Congress Handbook of Latin American Studies This database contains bibliographic records found in the Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS) from the 1970s to the present. HLAS includes annotated citations for books, journal articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and e-resources.

• Hispanic Theological Initiative The Hispanic Theological Initiative’s (HTI) mission is cultivating Latine PhD students across the nation by uniting and leveraging institutional resources (human, financial, and infrastructural). 1. Increase the recruitment, retention, and graduation rates of Latine PhD students across the nation by uniting and leveraging institutional resources (human, financial, and infrastructural). 2. Increase the presence of Latine leaders and faculty–especially, tenured faculty in seminaries, schools of theology, and universities. 3. Provide a forum for exchange of information, ideas, and best practices to engage the contributions of Latine faculty and students in theological and religious education. -- HTI website.

• Latino/a Bibliography of Theology & Religious Studies -- This important resource is "a project and service of the Academy of Catholic Hispanic Theologians of the U.S. (ACHTUS), designed for its members and for scholars and students anywhere who need accurate, complete and frequently updated bibliographic information on and by U.S. Latino/a Catholics and Episcopalians."

• Latina/o Archival Collection Sites (Northwestern University) Courtesy of Northwestern University provides a wide array of links to collections of latina/o heritage, events and much more.

• A Latinx Theology Reading List -- Sojourners

• Presbyterian Historical Society: Presbyterians in Puerto Rico Photographs, audio, and video documenting the Presbyterian communities of Puerto Rico.

• USCCB - Secretariat of Cultural Diversity in the Church -- A great resource within the U.S Conference of Catholic Bishops in charge of promoting awareness of cultural diversity in all areas of the Church's life. The Secretariat oversees the pastoral care of Hispanic Catholics, African American Catholics, Native American Catholics, Asian Catholics, African Catholics, Pacific Islander Catholics, Catholic migrants and refugees and people on the move.

Statistics

• Hispanic Map of the United States 2022 Instituto Cervantes at FAS - Harvard University: Abstract: This study will offer an overview of the situation of the Spanish language and the Hispanic population in the United States up to December 2022, covering areas such as demographics, language, identity, economics, education, politics, and health. The various sections also include information about the effects of the Covid-19 pandemic from 2020 until the end of 2022. This new issue of the Observatorio’s Hispanic Map, moreover, puts into context the diversity characterizing the Hispanic/Latino population, as well as its achievements, over the last two decades. The study concludes by pointing out certain areas which require more attention in order to facilitate the group’s socio-economic progress.

• Hispanics in the United States - Statistics & Facts Provided by Statista.

• A Mosaic, Not a Monolith: A Profile of the U.S. Latino Population, 2000-2020 (UCLA Latino Policy and Politics Institute)

• CepalSTAT (ECLAC)