It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How are library databases different from a regular internet search engine?
Search Engines: Like Google, Bing, and Yahoo search the entire web, they sift through entertainment, news, social media, and information of all kinds. The results can include books, journal articles, and newspapers just like the library databases. However, unlike databases, many of the results are not free, and it is often difficult to decipher whether the materials are appropriate for college-level research.
Library Databases: Have been created specifically for college research, and in LBC's case, the databases available to you were chosen by faculty and staff to fit your needs. Using the Library databases as well as the Library Search Box will allow researching over collections of journals, magazines, newspapers, books, and eBooks both scholarly and popular. Library databases also have powerful limiting options that can better specify the information you are seeking.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.