Research Guides: Old Testament II BIB 104 AUD/AED: Reference

Research Starter

The Oxford Biblical Studies Online is a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history of nineteen reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Tertiary Resouces

The Anchor Bible Dictionary
Call Number: BS 440 .A54 1992 v.1-6
Available at: Lancaster Reference, Washington D.C. Reference and Philadelphia Reference
The Ancient Near East
Call Number: Lancaster Reference DS 57 .A677 2000 v.1-4
Ancient near Eastern Thought and the Old Testament
Call Number: eBook
eBook
Call number: BS 1171.3 .W35 2006
Also available at: Lancaster Main, Washington D.C. Main, and Philadelphia Main.
Ancient Texts for the Study of the Hebrew Bible
Call Number: BS 1184 .S63 2005
Available at: Lancaster Course Reserves and Washington DC Main
Dictionary of Deities and Demons in the Bible
Call Number: BS 680 .G57 D53 1999
Available at: Lancaster Reference, Washington D.C. Reference and Philadelphia Reference
Dictionary of the Ancient Near East
Call Number: Lancaster Reference DS 56 .D5 2000
Dictionary of the Old Testament - Pentateuch
Call Number: eBook
Also Available Washington DC Reference BS 1225.52 .D53 2003
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books
Call Number: eBook
Call number: BS 1205.55
Also Available at: Lancaster Main, Washington DC Reference, Philadelphia Reference
Encountering the Old Testament
Call Number: BS 1140.3 .A76 2015
Available at: Lancaster Main, Washington D.C. Main, and Philadelphia Main.
Encyclopedia of Society and Culture in the Ancient World
Call Number: eBook
The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia
Call Number: BS 440 .I6 1979 v.1-4
Available at: Lancaster Main and Reference, Washington D.C. Main and Reference , Philadelphia Main and Reference
The New Encyclopedia of Archaeological Excavations in the Holy Land
Call Number: DS 111 .A2 N488 1992 v.1-5
Available at: Lancaster Reference and Washington D.C. Reference
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the near East
Call Number: eBook
Also Available at: Lancaster Reference DS 56 .O9 1997
Zondervan Handbook of Biblical Archaeology
Call Number: eBook
Also Available at: Lancaster Reference BS 621 .P755 2017

Primary Resources

Remember the Bible is a primary source. Here are two additional resources that include primary source material regarding the Ancient Near East:

Ancient near East - An Anthology of Texts and Pictures
Call Number: eBook
eBook
Call number
Also Available at: Lancaster Course Reserves, Washington DC Reference, and Philadelphia Reference
The Context of Scripture
Call Number: eBook
eBook
Call number: BS 1180 .C66
Also Available at: Lancaster Course Reserves, Lancaster Oversize, Washington D.C. Reference, and Washington D.C. Main
Ancient Near Eastern Texts Relating to the Old Testament
Call Number: eBook

Searching for Secondary Sources

1. Begin by looking at the resources listed in the bibliographies found in the tertiary sources you are using. The resources in these bibliographies are Secondary Sources.

2. Go to: Library website and select: Library Catalog. Type in key words for your topic.

3. Stop by the Research Desk and ask a Librarian.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS

The premier index for journal articles and book essays in all fields of religion, biblical studies, and theology.