Research Guides: Education: Reference

Electronic Reference Materials

Encyclopedia of Educational Psychology and Theory
Call Number: eBook
Educational psychology crosses many facets of education: learning, human development, statistics, curriculum, teaching. Many current issues, including obesity, distance education, vouchers, and bullying, touch on educational psychology. Nearly 300 academicians and researchers, mainly from the U.S., contributed to this reference work “providing overviews and explanations of the major topics” and intended for “an educated reader who may be uninformed” about the field. The encyclopedia contains about 250 entries, from Abstinence education to Zone of proximal development.
Encyclopedia of Special Education
Call Number: eBook
The Third Edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education offers a thoroughly revised, comprehensive A to Z compilation of authoritative information on the education of those with special needs from AAMR, AMERICAN ASSOCIATION ON MENTAL RETARDATION to ZYGOSITY. All articles are cross-referenced, and citations guiding you to related sources appear at the end of each entry.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
Call Number: eBook
Edspeak
Call Number: eBook
This title defines education phrases, buzzwords, and jargon.
Philosophy of Education
Call Number: eBook
Key Concepts in the Philosophy of Education (2nd edition) is an in-depth glossary which, it is hoped, will provide students and teachers of philosophy of education and other people interested in the subject with a useful reference book on key theoretical terms and, where appropriate, the various debates surrounding them.
Diagnosing the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders
Call Number: eBook
DSM-5 Essentials
Call Number: eBook

Reference Books (In-Library Use Only)

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Education
Call Number: Lancaster Reference LB 15 .E47 2003
This revision of an encyclopedia first published in 1971 reflects the dramatic changes that have occurred in the last three decades, such as the end of the Cold War and the advent of the Internet. Although focused on U.S. practices, it provides a fair coverage of international issues. With 850 signed articles, a few useful appendixes, and a strong subject index, it is likely to become the new standard reference on education. (LJ 5/1/03)
Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development
Call Number: Lancaster Reference LB 15 .E473 2005
This comprehensive and exhaustive reference work on the subject of education from the primary grades through higher education combines educational theory with practice, making it a unique contribution to the educational reference market. Issues related to human development and learning are examined by individuals whose specializations are in diverse areas including education, psychology, sociology, philosophy, law, and medicine.
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
Call Number: Lancaster Reference LB 1027.55 .E523 2005
The Encyclopedia of School Psychology is the first comprehensive guide to this field, featuring the latest research on school learning, motivation, and educational assessment. Approximately 250 entries by 175 contributing authors from psychology, education and counseling, child development, and special education address student success, behavior disorders, intelligence testing, learning disabilities, strategies to improve academic skills, and more.
The Greenwood Dictionary of Education
Call Number: Lancaster Reference. LB 15 .G68 2003
The first of its kind since the 1980s, this book provides authoritative definitions for more than 2,600 terms that apply to educational research, practice, and theory. The overall focus is on the most critical terms in education as used by current practitioners, yet references to significant historical events in education are also included.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5
Call Number: Lancaster Reference RC 455.2 .C4 D54 2013
Students with disabilities and special education law
Call Number: Lancaster Reference KF 4210 .H36 2010-2018