Skip to Main Content

Modern World: World War I to the Present HIS 204: WWI Resources

Archives/Libraries by Country

Document Packs - Eastern Front

Direzione Generale per gli Archivi

Italian Central Archives of the State. Only available in Italian.

Archives/Libraries by Area

World War I Websites

Europeana 1914-1918

"Europeana 1914-1918 brings together resources from three major European projects each dealing with different types of First World War material. The result is an archive that allows the national collections of libraries to sit beside personal stories and treasures and important film archives."

International Encyclopedia of the First World War

" '1914-1918-online. International Encyclopedia of the First World War' is an English-language virtual reference work on the First World War."

WWI Document Archive

This archive of primary documents from World War One has been assembled by volunteers of the World War I Military History List (WWI-L). International in focus, the archive intends to present in one location primary documents concerning the Great War.

West Point WWI Military Maps

A visual map overview of World War I military campaigns.

Prisoners of the First World War ICRC Historical Archives

Red Cross records on prisoners of WWI. Contains postcards and other primary documents as well from a variety of soldiers.

WWW-VL: WWI History

World Wide Web Virtual Library links. Organized by media and year of the conflict.

National Archives Centenary Programme

This is a five-year project in progress to commemorate the centennial of the First World War.

14 18 Mission Centenaire - Services éducatifs

French national site on the centennial. Features articles on "France," "International," "Around the Great War," and "Scientific section."

World War I Centenary - Continuations and Beginnings

The Oxford WWI centenary website. Has resources on religion, medicine, material cultural, and library tools among many other topics.

100 1. Weltkrieg

Bundesarchiv centennial on the First World War. Contains many resources, including audio samples.

World War I Centenary

The Wall Street Journal centenary collection of 100 different resources. Each is laid out and divided by topic.

100 Jahre ester Weltkrieg

The Austrian state archive's site on the First World War. Available in German.

New Zealand's First World War Centenary 2014-1019

New Zealand government's collection on the centenary.

Troops of the Worcestershire Regiment (48th Division) digging a communication trench at Ovillers, July 1916, photographed by John Warwick Brooke. Part of the Ministry of Information First World War Official Collection. Made available through the Imperial War Museum. © IWM (Q 3986)