Research Guides: History: Databases

"Best Bet" Resources for Articles & Essays

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
American Civil War, 1855-1868 This link opens in a new window
Periodical articles on the American Civil War covering the years before the war to the beginnings of Reconstruction.
AtoZ The World This link opens in a new window
Country guides of 175 countries concerning culture, customs, food religion, language, maps and points of interests.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full-text historical books, ency., bios, magazines, videos & maps
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
The premier index for journal articles and book essays in all fields of religion, biblical studies, and theology.
Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a interdisciplinary database of full text journals.
Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Current full-text news & info for all govt.branches & the military
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.

Physical Copies: All issues are shelved alphabetically by Journal Title at the Lancaster branch:

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Periodicals Archive Online \ This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.