Skip to Main Content

History: Reference

Features selective resources for research on Historical topics

EBook Starters

The American Revolution
Call Number: eBook
Hutchinson Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: eBook
Reformation and Counter-Reformation
Call Number: eBook
Revolts, Protests, Demonstrations, and Rebellions in American History
Call Number: eBook
What They Fought for, 1861-1865
Call Number: eBook
Milestone Documents of American Leaders, Revised Edition
Call Number: eBook

Reference Website

Best History Sites
Comprehensive Research Starter Site. Popular Categories include Lesson Plans, Art History, World War II General Resources, American History, General History Resources, Medieval History, Middle East Conflict and Renaissance.
American Civil War Music & Resources
Library of Congress Encyclopedia of Music and Performance focusing on the Civil War Era.

Library Resources and Starters

Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Call Number: Lancaster Reference CB 5 .D52 v.1-v.5
The Eerdmans Dictionary of Early Judaism
Call Number: Lancaster Reference BM 176 .E34 2010
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Call Number: Lancaster Reference BR 302.8 .O93 1996 v.1-v.4
Also Available Washington DC & Philadelphia
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
Call Number: Lancaster Reference CB 361 .E52 1999 v.1-v.6
Encyclopedia of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict
Call Number: Lancaster Reference DS 119.7 .E568 2010 v.1-v.3
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895
Call Number: Lancaster Reference E 185 .E545 2006 v.1-v.3
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present
Call Number: Lancaster Reference E 185 .E5453 2009 v.1-v.5

The Historical Statistics of the United States
Call Number: Lancaster Reference HA 202 .H57 2006 v.1-v.5
The Reader's Companion to American History
Call Number: eBook
Also Available Lancaster Reference E 174 .R43 1991
The Great American History Fact-Finder
Call Number: eBook
Also Available Lancaster Reference E 174 .C67 2004
The Arab-Israeli Conflict
Call Number: Lancaster Main DS 119.7 .M2245 2010
Ancient Israel's History
Call Number: Lancaster Main BS 1197 .A6195 2014
Reference library of Black America
Call Number: Lancaster Reference E 185 .R455 2005 v.1-v.5
Opposing Viewpoints in American History
Call Number: Lancaster Main E 173 .O7 1996

American National Biography
Call Number: Lancaster Reference CT 213 .A68 1999 V.1-v.24
African American National Biography
Call Number: Lancaster Reference E 185.96 .A4466 2008 v.1-v.8
Colonial America
Call Number: Lancaster Main E 187.5 .S23 2000
American Civil War
Call Number: Lancaster Main E 467 .H656 1999
The Colonial Era
Call Number: Lancaster Oversize E 188 .J39 2002
Reader's Guide to American History
Call Number: Lancaster Reference Z 1236 .R43 1997

The Routledge Atlas of Arab-Israeli Conflict
Call Number: Lancaster Main DS 109.93 .G562 2002
ISBN: 9780415281171
Crossway ESV Bible Atlas
Call Number: Lancaster Reference G 2230 .C87 2010
Also Available Lancaster Oversize
Zondervan NIV Atlas of the Bible
Call Number: Lancaster Reference BS 630 .R37 1989
The Historical Atlas of the Congresses of the Confederate States of America, 1861-1865
Call Number: Lancaster R-Oversize G 1281 .F8 M3 1994
The American Civil War
Call Number: Lancaster R-Oversize G 1201 .S5 A8 1986

Day by Day
Call Number: Lancaster R-Oversize D 723 .D43 1990
Day by Day
Call Number: Lancaster R-Oversize D 723 .D43 1980
Day by Day
Call Number: Lancaster R-Oversize D 723 .D43 1970
Day by Day
Call Number: Lancaster R-Oversize D 723 .D43 1960
Day by Day
Call Number: Lancaster R-Oversize D 723 .D43 1950
Day by Day
Call Number: Lancaster R-Oversize D 723 .D43 1940
The Thirties
Call Number: Lancaster R-Oversize D 723 .D43 1930
Day by Day
Call Number: Lancaster R-Oversize D 723 .D43 1920

Credo Research Starters

Thirteen Colonies
Original North American colonies that signed the Declaration of Independence from Britain in 1776.
American Civil War Topics
Sometimes called ‘the War Between the States’ or ‘the Second American Revolution’, a conflict in the USA which resolved two great issues: the nature of the Federal Union and the relative power of the states and the central government; and the existence of black slavery.
Arab-Israeli Conflict
Series of wars and territorial conflicts between Israel and various Arab states in the Middle East since the founding of the state of Israel in May 1948.