It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Greek Research Guide: Databases
Resources for Greek New Testament (GNT), Septuagint (LXX), and The Early Church Fathers (ECF)
Papyri.info has two primary components. The Papyrological Navigator (PN) supports searching, browsing, and aggregation of ancient papyrological documents and related materials; the Papyrological Editor (PE) enables multi-author, version controlled, peer reviewed scholarly curation of papyrological texts, translations, commentary, scholarly metadata, institutional catalog records, bibliography, and images.
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae® (TLG®) is a research program at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972 the TLG has collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
Since planning began in 1985, the Perseus Digital Library Project has explored what happens when libraries move online. Two decades later, as new forms of publication emerge and millions of books become digital, this question is more pressing than ever. Perseus is a practical experiment in which we explore possibilities and challenges of digital collections in a networked world. For the mission of Perseus and its current research, see here.
Perseus maintains a web site that showcases collections and services developed as a part of our research efforts over the years. The code for the digital library system and many of the collections that we have developed are now available. For more information, please go here.
Our flagship collection, under development since 1987, covers the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world. We are applying what we have learned from Classics to other subjects within the humanities and beyond. We have studied many problems over the past two decades, but our current research centers on personalization: organizing what you see to meet your needs.
This site is devoted to the study of Greek New Testament manuscripts. The New Testament Virtual Manuscript Room is a place where scholars can come to find the most exhaustive list of New Testament manuscript resources, can contribute to marking attributes about these manuscripts, and can find state of the art tools for researching this rich dataset.
On 13 September 2002, Dr. Daniel B. Wallace founded the Center for the Study of New Testament Manuscripts (CSNTM) to utilize emerging technologies to preserve and study Greek New Testament manuscripts. Since then, CSNTM has collaborated with more than forty institutions on four continents to produce hundreds of thousands of images of New Testament manuscripts. In the process, CSNTM has discovered dozens of New Testament manuscripts. View these images at CSNTM's digital library.
Researchers working on Greek epigraphy know how laborious the location of the bibliography generated by an inscription or a series of inscriptions throughout the years can sometimes be. The purpose of the data base CLAROS is to make it easier to locate new editions of Greek inscriptions discovered throughout the last hundred years. It is designed to help not only epigraphists, but also non-specialists (historians, linguists, philologists, etc.) who may be less acquainted than the former with the task of finding their way in the bibliographical jungle this discipline has become.
At the Institute of Papyrology of the University of Heidelberg in the years 1988 to 2002 in the office "Papyrus Editions" of the Heidelberg Academy of Sciences, a complete electronic index of the previously published Greek papyrus documents of Egypt was developed, which also related texts on Ostraka and similar typefaces, those in Latin and other parts of the Middle East, while literary and semiliterary texts and inscriptions are generally ignored. Since the closure of the job at the end of 2002, the company has been without permanent financing, but has since been able to benefit only from short-term measures such as theGerman Research Foundation (DFG) funded project " Extension of the HGV to bibliographic evidence of existing translations and translation of the contained in BGU I-IV Greek texts " and the free use of the below persons are kept alive.
Full-text historical books, ency., bios, magazines, videos & maps
History Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Current full-text news & info for all govt.branches & the military
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, and other content pertinent to the increasing needs of those sites. The Military & Government Collection provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 journals and periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 400 titles.