Research Guides: Music, Worship & Performing Arts: Composition and Music Theory: Finding Journal Articles

Best Resources for Articles & Essays

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 5,000 journals.
Credo Reference (Academic Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Over 700 encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and reference handbooks.
Grove Music Online This link opens in a new window

OmniFile Full Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines, including peer-reviewed articles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a interdisciplinary database of full text journals.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
"The Artstor Digital Library features a wide range of multidisciplinary content from some of the world’s top museums, artists, libraries, scholars, and photo archives."
Louis F. Benson Collection of Hymnals and Hymnology This link opens in a new window
"Approximately 12,000 volumes on virtually every aspect of hymnology, with the exception of musical scores and anthems. Over half of the collection is presented here in digital form. There are many early editions of the metrical psalms; historical hymnbooks of all of the major Protestant denominations; evangelistic, revival and gospel hymnbooks; hymns for the Sunday School and children; religious poetry; and books about hymns, hymn writers, and the use of music and song in worship."

Physical Copies: All issues are shelved alphabetically by Journal Title at the Lancaster branch:

eJournals: Copy and paste them into the search box on the library homepage. *Tip- select the Journals tab*