Music, Worship & Performing Arts: Composition and Music Theory: Websites

CRAAP TEST WORKSHEET 

Use the following worksheet to help you evaluate your sources. Score each of the main categories 1 to 10 (1 = Worst; 10 = Best). Check your scores with the key at the bottom.

Currency: the timeliness of the information

• When was the information published or posted? 
• Has the information been revised or updated?
• Is the information current or out-of date for your topic?
• Are the links functional?

Score:________

Relevance: the importance of the information for your needs

• Does the information relate to your topic or answer your question?
• Who is the intended audience?
• Is the information at an appropriate level (i.e. not too elementary or advanced for your needs)?
• Have you looked at a variety of sources before determining this is one you will use?
• Would you be comfortable using this source for a research paper?

Score:________

Authority: the source of the information

• Who is the author/publisher/source/sponsor?
• Are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations given?
• What are the author's credentials or organizational affiliations given?
• What are the author's qualifications to write on the topic?
• Is there contact information, such as a publisher or e-mail address?
• Does the URL reveal anything about the author or source? For example:
  • .com (commercial)
  • .edu (educational)
  • .gov (U.S. government)
  • .org (nonprofit organization)
  • .net (network)

Score:________

Accuracy: the reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content

• Where does the information come from?
• Is the information supported by evidence?
• Has the information been reviewed or refereed?
• Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
• Does the language or tone seem biased and free of emotion?
• Are there spelling, grammar, or other typographical errors?

Score:________

Purpose: the reason the information exists 

• What is the purpose of the information? to inform? teach? sell? entertain? persuade?
• Do the authors/sponsors make their intentions or purpose clear?
• Is the information fact? opinion? propaganda?
• Does the point of view appear objective and impartial?
• Are there political, ideological, cultural, religious, institutional, or personal biases?

Score:________

 Total:________

45-50 Excellent

40-44 Good

 35-39 Average

 30-34 Borderline Acceptable

 Below 30 Unacceptable

Note: all credit for the CRAAP test goes to the librarians who developed it at Meriam Library at CSU Chico. 

Great 78 Project: For years the Archive of Contemporary Music (ARC) had been getting calls offering 78rpm collections that they were unable to accept. But when Internet Archive and ARC partnered to focus on preserving and digitizing audio-visual materials, space and shipping became available and it was now possible to begin preserving 78s. Here’s a short history of how in only a few years ARC and the Internet Archive have created one of the largest collections in America

CCM Magazine Online : Music Magazine of Contemporary Christian Music. We also have a subscription in the Library

Gilbert and Sullivan Archive : Opera and other works of W.S. Gilbert and Arthur Sullivan

Historic American Sheet Music : American 19th and early 20th century hosted by Duke University 

Hymnary: Comprehensive index of 5,174 Hymnals and  1,111,028 published hymns 

MENC: National Association for Music Education. The Worlds largest arts education organization

Music Cards: Customizable online music theory flash cards

Music Theory: teoría Tutorials , exercises and articles to develop an understanding of music theory

Music Theory: Self paced theory tutor

Scorser: Search engine for Musicians

MuseScore: Create, play and print beautiful sheet music

Mutopia Project: Free, public domain classical and contemporary sheet music

IMSLP: Free sheet music

Ethnomusicology and World Music Collections

Global Music Archive : multi-media reference archive and resource center for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and the Americas. It promotes education in African and American traditional and popular music.

Smithsonian Folkways: Find liner notes and audio samples from all musical and spoken word recordings issued by Folkways and its affiliates since Folkways' beginning in 1948.

World and traditional music - Archival sound recordings from the British Library : Contains thousands of sound recordings from a variety of cultures