Research Guides: Dissertations and Theses: Home

About

"A thesis is a hypothesis or conjecture. "

"A PhD dissertation is a lengthy, formal document that argues in defense of a particular thesis. (So many people use the term ``thesis'' to refer to the document that a current dictionary now includes it as the third meaning of ``thesis'')."

"Two important adjectives used to describe a dissertation are ``original'' and ``substantial.'' The research performed to support a thesis must be both, and the dissertation must show it to be so. In particular, a dissertation highlights original contributions. "

CS @ Purdue How to Write a Dissertation or Bedtime Reading For People Who Do Not Have Time To Sleep. (The General Idea)

Citation

APA

Last name, F. N. (Year). Title (Doctoral dissertation or Master's Thesis).

Available from ProQuest Dissertations and Theses database. (UMI No. xxxxxx)

MLA

Author Last Name, First Name. Title. MA Thesis or Diss. School, Year.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. Web. day Month year of access.

Chicago

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title." MA thesis or diss., School, Year.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses. (UMI No. xxxxxx)

Library Search Box

Databases

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - Full Text This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses —The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.

TREN This link opens in a new window
The Theological Research Exchange Network (TREN) is a library of over 22,083 theological thesis/dissertation titles.

To access downloads use the password : lbc

1. Click on Search e-docs

2. Search ((most direct way of searching is by whole title & clicking the exact phrase box))

3. Click on Add this Digital e-Doc and DOWNLOAD NOW!

4. Enter the password: lbc

EThOS This link opens in a new window
"EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses."

OATD Open Access Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
A search engine specifically for openly available, digital theses and dissertations from over 600 institutions.

This is an index of over 3.5 million electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). To the extent possible, the index is limited to records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.

AMS
Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology (DDM) is an international database of bibliographic records for completed dissertations and new dissertation topics in the fields of musicology, music theory, and ethnomusicology, as well as in related musical, scientific, and humanistic disciplines.
DART
The DART-Europe partners help to provide researchers with a single European Portal for the discovery of Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETDs), and they participate in advocacy to influence future European e-theses developments. DART-Europe offers partners a European networking forum on ETD issues, and may provide the opportunity to submit collaborative funding applications to achieve DART-Europe's vision for ETDs.
MIT's dspace
DSpace@MIT is a growing collection of MIT’s research that includes peer-reviewed articles, technical reports, working papers, theses, and more. End-user downloads of the items regularly exceed one million per month.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
An international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). The website includes resources on how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.
PQDT
PQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. You can quickly and easily locate dissertations and theses relevant to your discipline, and view the complete text in PDF format.
ResearchGate
ResearchGate is a social networking site for scientists and researchers to share papers, ask and answer questions, and find collaborators.

Requesting Items

1. The item is NOT AVAILABLE though LBC

2. You know EXACTLY what material you need.

Media type, Full Title, Author(s), journal title, publication date...

3. It isn't A FREE RESOURCE

If you have the citation ( Full Title, Author(s), journal title, publication date), check GOOGLE SCHOLAR
If you have the citation ( Full Title, Author(s), journal title, publication date), check INTERNET ARCHIVE, HATHI TRUST or RESEARCH GATE,

Search for materials using the library search box or any of the Databases. Those items not owned be the Jones Library will have the option to "Request It"
Fill out the form.
Select "Submit" to request the item. These requests are processed daily Monday-Friday.

More information about LBCShare Request It.

Search the Library Search box for the materials.
Identify the material you need
Click Request It to reserve the material for pick up or to be mailed to your preferred address
Select "Submit". The library staff process Requests Monday-Friday

Find out More about Request It Holds