Research Guides: Music, Worship & Performing Arts: Music History 3: Databases

Best Resources for Articles & Essays

Academic Search Premier
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 5,000 journals.
Credo Reference (Academic Core Collection)
Over 700 encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases and reference handbooks.
Grove Music Online
"Grove Music Online is the world’s premier online music encyclopedia, offering comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship."
JSTOR
JSTOR is a interdisciplinary database of full text journals.
ProQuest Central Databases
ProQuest Central is the largest single periodical resource available, bringing together complete databases across all major subject areas.
Subject areas include: Business, Health and Medical, Language and Literature, Social Sciences, Education, Science and Technology, as well as core titles in the Performing and Visual Arts, History, Religion, Philosophy, and includes thousands of full-text newspapers from around the world.

Academic Video Online (AVON)
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive video subscription delivering more than 62,000 titles in anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. Curated for the educational experience, it includes a variety of content-types, such as documentaries, films, and demonstrations.
https://proquest.libguides.com/asmultimedia
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints is an online resource of current events and social issues. While it covers a wide range of resources for most majors, it is especially helpful in providing information from different viewpoints on debatable issues.

Artstor
"The Artstor Digital Library features a wide range of multidisciplinary content from some of the world’s top museums, artists, libraries, scholars, and photo archives."
Louis F. Benson Collection of Hymnals and Hymnology
"Approximately 12,000 volumes on virtually every aspect of hymnology, with the exception of musical scores and anthems. Over half of the collection is presented here in digital form. There are many early editions of the metrical psalms; historical hymnbooks of all of the major Protestant denominations; evangelistic, revival and gospel hymnbooks; hymns for the Sunday School and children; religious poetry; and books about hymns, hymn writers, and the use of music and song in worship."

Physical Copies: All issues are shelved alphabetically by Journal Title at the Lancaster branch:

eJournals: Copy and paste them into the search box on the library homepage. *Tip- select the Journals tab*