CRAAP TEST WORKSHEET
Use the following worksheet to help you evaluate your sources. Score each of the main categories 1 to 10 (1 = Worst; 10 = Best). Check your scores with the key at the bottom.
Currency: the timeliness of the information
Score:________
Relevance: the importance of the information for your needs
Score:________
Authority: the source of the information
Score:________
Accuracy: the reliability, truthfulness, and correctness of the content
Score:________
Purpose: the reason the information exists
Score:________
Total:________
45-50 Excellent
40-44 Good
35-39 Average
30-34 Borderline Acceptable
Below 30 Unacceptable
Note: all credit for the CRAAP test goes to the librarians who developed it at Meriam Library at CSU Chico.
Institute for Composer Diversity
The Composer Diversity Database allows users to discover almost 4000 composers from underrepresented groups. You can search by composer name, living or deceased, specifically for women or non-binary composers, common large and small ensemble genres, racial, ethnic, or cultural demographics, and by location (city, state, and country).
... And We Were Heard gives underrepresented composers a platform to have their music heard. Composers that submit works to … And We Were Heard are matched with top-notch
wind bands and engage in collaborative recording sessions. The resulting audio tracks are hosted on the site along with innovative ideas of how to support diverse voices in music.
Classical Scores Library (Music Online) This link opens in a new window
This collection has many contemporary scores, which often reflects a more diverse field of composers than historical music in the canon.
A non-profit educational company and publisher of high-quality easily-accessible materials striving to elevate the visibility of women composers and theorists.
Kassia: The Women's Art Song Database
The Kassia Database is a resource geared toward aiding singers, instructors of voice, pianists, researchers, and music lovers to discover and celebrate art song by women composers. The database includes songs from the Baroque period through the 21st century, and have been categorized by level, voice type, language, composer, and composer dates. Related information includes range, tessitura, piano accompaniment, vocal line, and links to available scores. The analysis is intended for singers from beginning high school through the collegiate level and professional career. The database leads you to find the unique voices and expansive styles of each individual composer, with the hopes to increase performance and advocation of each woman's often overlooked works.
International Alliance for Women in Music
The International Alliance for Women in Music (IAWM) is an international membership organization of women and men dedicated to fostering and encouraging the activities of women in music, particularly in the areas of musical activity such as composing, performing, and research in which gender discrimination is an historic and ongoing concern. IAWM members engage in efforts to increase the programming of music by female composers, to combat discrimination against female musicians, including as symphony orchestra members, and to include accounts of the contributions of women musicians in university music curricula and textbooks.
Center for Black Music Research
The Center for Black Music Research's mission is to illuminate the significant role that black music plays in world culture by ...
* serving as a nexus for all who value black music,
* promoting scholarly thought and knowledge about black music, and
* providing a safe haven for the materials and information that document the black music experience across Africa and the diaspora.
African American Music Reference (Music Online) This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia of African American music.
The Wind Repertory Project is a comprehensive database of wind literature, expanded by contributions of band directors/conductors, students, and wind band enthusiasts worldwide. Composers are categorized by specific nationality, but also by groups such as African American Composers, Female Composers, LatinX Composers, and LGBT Composers.
The No Broken Links directories are a starting point for scholars, performers, composers, and teachers to discover solo and chamber repertoire by minority composers for Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Saxophone, and Horn. The directories focus specifically on the work of womxn, transgender & gender non-conforming individuals, and/or Black, Indigenous, or persons of color.
Beyond Elijah Rock: The Non-Idiomatic Choral Music of Black Composers
This website is a working list of the non-idiomatic choral music of black composers. Non-idiomatic, as it relates to black composers, refers to the original concert music that is not part of the traditional idiomatic canon associated with black musicians. That canon includes spirituals, gospel, jazz, hip-hop, and rap among others.
A Seat at the Piano promotes and advocates for the inclusion, study, and performance of a more equitably representative body of piano works. The resources are helpfully leveled by difficulty, Beginner, Intermediate, and Advanced, which is further divided into subcategories of early and late, if necessary.
A website pooling resources for inclusive teaching in early music, including articles and assignments, that may point to diverse or inclusive repertoire.
Violinist Gabriela Diaz is updating this database on a weekly basis with contributions from musicians all over the world. This list builds upon the previous work of Rachel Barton Pine and Dr. Megan E. Hill and also includes works catalogued in the Living Black Composers Directory.
Black Grooves is a music review site hosted by the Archives of African American Music & Culture (AAAMC) at Indiana University. Our goal is to promote black music by providing our readers with monthly updates on interesting new releases and quality reissues in all genres─including gospel, blues, jazz, funk, soul, R&B, world music, and hip-hop—as well as classical music composed or performed by black artists.
The Black Music History Library
The Black Music History Library contains well over one thousand entries (and counting) in the form of books, articles, documentaries, series, radio segments, and podcasts about the Black origins of popular and traditional music, dating from the 18th century to the present day. These materials range from informal to scholarly, meaning there is something in the library for everyone.
Performing Arts Encyclopedia: Explore Music, theater, and dance at the Library of Congress.
American Sheet Music: Music for the Nation maintained by the Library of Congress.
American Memory Audio: Listen to music, interviews, field recordings, and more from the Library's historic sound recording collections.
Digital collection from Brown University Library.
African Diaspora Music Project
A compilation of original works by composers in the African Diaspora. All research associated with this project is owned and presented by Dr. Louise Toppin and Videmus.
Afrocentric Voices in "Classical" Music
Historic and contemporary African American singers and composers of Classical vocal music. Compiled by Randye Jones
American Composers Orchestra : Composers and Works Database
A searchable database of composers and works supported by ACO. ACO aims to challenge the stereotypical image of a “composer” by supporting creative artists from North, Central, and South Americas, especially BIPOC, immigrant, women, transgender, and nonbinary artists.
American Guild of Organists (AGO): bibliographies
Under "Organ Repertoire Lists," AGO offers bibliographies of organ works by East Asian, Latin American, and Black composers.
American Viola Society: Underrepresented Composer Database
This database explores repertoire by underrepresented composers that involves the viola as a significant voice.
The AAP aims to increase awareness of and access to arias by diverse, contemporary American composers and librettists, whose scores remain largely unpublished. This online hub includes arias from works that have recently received their premieres, as well as from operas for which the premieres are forthcoming. At launch, the AAP includes 20 different arias, all available for free download as PDFs for educational and audition purposes. Additional arias will be added to the AAP hub on a regular basis.
This database provides access to thousands of works by women and gender-marginalized composers. By sharing knowledge and resources, BID increases access to works by underrepresented composers, empowering all who wish to diversify classical music programming.
CelloBello: cello repertoire lists
CelloBello offers compiled lists of works for cello by Black, Latin American, women, and 21st century composers.
The Institute for Composer Diversity, housed at SUNY - Fredonia, is dedicated to the celebration, education, and advocacy of music created by composers from historically underrepresented groups through online tools, research-based resources, and sponsored initiatives. The award-winning Composer Diversity Database allows users to discover almost four thousand composers from underrepresented groups.
Concert de Monsieur de Saint-George
Dedicated to the promotion of the reputation and works of the composer Joseph Bologne, chevalier de Saint-Georges.
Expanding the American Canon: A Conductor's Compendium of Black American Orchestral Composers
Dissertation: This document aims to address the issue of accessible published works by Black Americans by presenting a current resource of available and ready-to-be- performed symphonic orchestral music by Black American composers.
Expanding the music theory canon
A collection of music theory examples by women and BIPoC composers. Examples are geared to the undergraduate core sequence. Each example contains a PDF of an excerpt for classroom use, a link to a public domain full score, a recording (when available), and a detailed composer biography.
Hathi Trust Women Composers Collection
The Hathi Trust Women Composers Collection consists of digitized sheet music for approximately 3,000 musical works by more than 700 women composers. Most date from the 19th- and early 20th-centuries, with a few pieces from the 18th century.
Database of articles, books, and other resources, searchable by keyword. With coverage up to about 1650, the project places special emphasis on the musical practices and experiences of people who -- often because of their race, geographical origins, gender, disability, or social status -- have been left at the margins of mainstream music histories.
Searchable online catalog containing over 9,000 original orchestral works by over 1,600 composers from 24 countries and territories of Latin America and the Caribbean.
MUGI : Musik und Gender im Internet
A dictionary of women in music throughout history, including biographical articles. Primarily in German, with some articles also in English.
Music by Black Composers (MBC) was founded in 2001 as a project of the Rachel Barton Pine Foundation, a long-standing, anti-racist organization in classical music. MBC’s mission is to help rectify historic and ongoing racial injustices in the classical music sphere.
Music Theory Examples by Women
This is a database of excerpts and complete musical compositions by women composers. The music is categorized by theoretical concept for use in music education.
National Flute Association: Selected Flute Repertoire & Studies
Selected Flute Repertoire and Studies is an online database containing repertoire and instructional materials for the flute, searchable by content type, level, instrumentation, and/or composer. It was developed to meet the needs of flute teachers with students ranging from beginners to graduate students.
New Muses Project makes composer recommendations based on composers you already like. This DEI-centered project also includes a chronological timeline of underrepresented composers.
This open-access music data project aims to make works by historically marginalized and un(der)-represented people more discoverable, to decenter the musical canon, and make data-driven music scholarship more diverse and inclusive. The nature of this project is iterative, because it is being used as a way to teach students about transcription and encoding. The repository contains a growing dataset of music incipits and excerpts from a large historical period by an un(der)-represented group (primarily women and people of color) that has generally been left out of (big) data driven scholarship work.
Resounding the Scores is a collection of fifty-five pieces of Chinese instrumental ensemble music associated with the Hong Kong Music Office (HKMO). Featuring arrangements and compositions by Tong Leung-tak, this collection also includes music by Yau Yuen-hing, Kwok Hang-kei, Chen Ning-chi, Ng King Pan, and Law Kin Pong. It showcases not only changes of stylistic trends in Chinese instrumental ensemble music, but also some notable aspects of the Music Office's development since its establishment in 1977.
A seat at the piano: Promoting inclusion in piano repertoire
A Seat at the Piano promotes and advocates for the inclusion, study, and performance of a more equitably representative body of piano works. By creating a resource for musicians, pedagogues, and curious music appreciators, ASAP aims to broaden their knowledge of composers and their works.
The Spirituals Database offers searchable access to recorded track information for concert Negro Spiritual settings performed by solo Classical vocalists. The resource contains a selection from a century of historic and contemporary concert spiritual recordings.
Women's suffrage in sheet music
Digital collection from the Library of Congress
WSF is an online forum devoted to women’s voices in song, to the many songs by women, and to the many female musicians working in and with song, who have yet to be given the attention they deserve.
Music Theory Examples by Women
Searchable by composer, musical element, or time period. Includes links to YouTube audio examples.
Composer Diversity Database (ICD)
Search by composer attribute or by instrumentation: Art Song, Choral, Orchestra, Wind Band
African Diaspora Music Project
Compilation of original works by composers in the African Diaspora. Search by composer or repertoire. Presented by Dr. Louise Toppin and Videmus.
Composers of Color Resource Project
Includes scores, lesson materials and score annotations, music theory examples, and more,
Historic Composers Directory (Music by Black Composers)
from site: "A directory of all [past] historic Black composers currently known by MBC"
Living Composers Directory (Music by Black Composers)
from site: " MBC’s Living Composers Directory is designed for those seeking to commission; for performers, conductors, and concert programmers seeking existing music; and for other researchers and scholars of contemporary classical music." Email and websites provided when available.