Research Guides: General Biology SCI 101: Reference

eReference

Encyclopedias
Dictionaries/Handbooks

Encyclopedia of Adaptations in the Natural World
Call Number: eBook
Encyclopedia of Biological Invasions
Call Number: eBook
Encyclopedia of Genetics Research
Call Number: eBook
Guide to the Oceans
Call Number: eBook

Advances in Evolutionary Developmental Biology
Call Number: eBook
Penguin Dictionary of Biology
Call Number: eBook
Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Biology
Call Number: eBook
The Cambridge Dictionary of Human Biology and Evolution
Call Number: eBook

Biographies & History

Women in Science
Provides full and partial text access to the written works of several female scientists accompanied by biographies.
Profiles of Scientists and Engineers
"Science360 Video Library immerses visitors in the latest wonders of science, engineering, technology and math"
Conservation Hall of Fame (National Wildlife Federation)
"Established in 1963 at the National Wildlife Federation's former headquarters in Washington, D.C., the Conservation Hall of Fame honors those who have been leaders in our nation's conservation movement, contributing invaluable knowledge and great inspiration."

Concise Dictionary of Scientific Biography
Call Number: Lancaster Reference Q 141 .C55 2000
The Great Scientists
Call Number: Lancaster Reference Q 141 .G767 1989 v.1-10
Biographical Memoirs National Academy of Sciences of the USA.
Call Number: Online Directory

Also Available Lancaster Reference Q 141 .N2 v.50-v.65

Library Reference/Circulating Materials

The encyclopedia of animals
Call Number: Lancaster Reference QL 7 .E543 2006
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Call Number: Lancaster Reference QH 332 .E52 1995 v.1-5
Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Call Number: Lancaster Reference Q 121 .37 2004 v.1-6
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Call Number: Lancaster Reference QL 7 .G7813 2003 v.1-17
Larousse Encyclopedia of the Animal World
Call Number: Lancaster Reference QL 50 .G7513 1975
The World Book Encyclopedia
Call Number: Lancaster Main AE 5 .W55 2007 v.1-22

Collegiate dictionary of zoology
Call Number: Lancaster Reference QL 9 .P4
The Dictionary of the Biological Sciences
Call Number: Lancaster Reference QH 302.3 .G7 1986
Walker's Mammals of the World
Call Number: Lancaster Reference QL 703 .W222 1983 v.1-2

Charles Darwin's religious views : from creationist to evolutionist
Call Number: Lancaster Main BL 263 H47x 1990
Coming to Grips with Genesis
Call Number: Lancaster Main BS 1235.2 .C66 2008

Also Available Washington DC & Philadelphia
God and Evolution
Call Number: Lancaster Main BL 263 .Z9313 2006
Signature in the Cell
Call Number: Lancaster Main BL 263 .M475 2009

Opposing Viewpoints Series

Opposing Viewpoints is a user-friendly book series the library owns on the Lancaster campus that presents opposite viewpoints on a wide variety of controversial topics.

Tips for finding more sources:

Once you have found a book/eBook or article that suits your research needs, check the bibliography of that source for more information.

You can also click on the hyperlinked SUBJECTS located in the catalog. Clicking on a hyperlinked subject will open a new window with all the library holdings on that same subject.