Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is an OER?
"Open Educational Resources (OERs) are freely-accessible teaching, educational, and research materials that either exist in the public domain or are available to users via an intellectual property license that permits their free use and re-purposing. These resources include complete online courses, course materials, modules, textbooks, streaming videos, tests, assessment tools, and software. They provide people worldwide with access to quality education and the opportunity to share, use, and reuse knowledge."
Citation & Attribution
Aaron S. McCollough, George Mason University
Open Access Textbooks
BC Campus Open Access Textbooks
A collection of over 380 open access textbooks in a variety of disciplines. College Success, Social Sciences, Adult/Remedial Education, Education, Philosophy, English, History
Galileo Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials. Most works hosted in GALILEO Open Learning Materials have a Creative Commons license, allowing the reuse, redistribution, remix, and revision of these materials. To learn more about Creative Commons licenses, please visit the Creative Commons Licenses Page
LibreTexts is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization committed to freeing the textbook from the limitations and costs of traditional textbooks. Our open and freely accessible LibreTexts provide a more engaging learning experience for students without the financial burden
A publisher of open access textbooks in business, economics, and statistics. Business, Math, Statistics, Economics
OpenStax is an established provided of peer-reviewed open access textbooks, including instructor resources (ex. test-banks, presentations) Math, Science, Business, College Success, Composition, History
Open Textbook Library
A database of searchable open access textbooks from multiple providers. Business, Communication, Education, Philosophy, Religion, Music, Art, Social Sciences
Saylor Academy Books
A sites with 100 open courses and accompanying textbooks. Business, Accounting, History, Psychology, Natural Sciences, Communication, Composition
This spreadsheet was compiled by Seth Allen, Library Director of Simmons College KY.
Academic Earth: Open Courses
"Academic Earth features a large collection of free online college courses as well as over 1,500 video lectures from MIT, Stanford, Berkeley, Harvard, Princeton, and Yale. Academic Earth also offers a selection of curated video playlists from their most popular online courses."
Lumen Learning: Open Courses
"Lumen is dedicated to facilitating broad, successful adoption of OER at higher education and K-12 institutions. Lumen provides training and support for faculty members to teach open courses and also publishes open courses in over 30 high-demand subjects. Lumen’s catalog of open courseware includes courses in mathematics, general education, business, and science and technology."
MITOCW: Open Courses
"Explore over 2,200 online courses crafted by MIT faculty that are shared freely with independent learners, and undergraduate and graduate students throughout the world. A wide selection of STEM, arts and humanities, and social sciences courses are available to choose from, with many available in several languages."
The open University: Open Courses
"The Open University a public distance learning and research university, and is one of the largest universities in the United Kingdom for undergraduate education. The Open University utilizes an all-inclusive model in which all course materials are included in the cost of its low tuition fees. The University offers short courses and certifications in addition to its more traditional undergraduate and graduate degree programs."
OER Community Websites
OER Accessibility Toolkit: University of British Columbia
"The goal of the OER Accessibility Toolkit is to provide the needed resources needed to each content creator, instructor, instructional designer, educational technologist, librarian, administrator, and teaching assistant to create a truly open and accessible educational resource — one that is accessible for all students."
Open Education Resources Toolkit
"Explaining open educational resources (OERs) and surrounding issues for senior managers, learning technologists, technical staff and educators interested in releasing OERs to the education community."
Open Professionals Education Network (OPEN)
"We’re here to help TAACCCT grantees meet OER, accessibility, and quality requirements for grant deliverables in the U.S. Department of Labor’s Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College & Career Training (TAACCCT) program." - Gates Foundation
OER Search Engines
Search Merlot's collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education
Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a tool that searches open content from 98 different sources and aims to make the discovery of open content easier.
OER Commons is a public digital library of open educational resources. Explore, create, and collaborate with educators around the world to improve curriculum
Open Research Library
The Open Research Library (ORL) is planned to include all Open Access book content worldwide on one platform for user-friendly discovery, offering a seamless experience navigating more than 20,000 Open Access books.
MOOCs (Massive Open Online Courses)
"Massive Open Online Courses (aka MOOCs) offer any age student free access to non-credit courses taught by world-renowned educators and leading industry experts; the courses include an incredible array of topics and, often, in languages other than English."
"OnlineCourses is a collection of over 500 free online classes from accredited universities. Classes are offered in a number of fields in the sciences and humanities."
The Open Educational Resource university (OERu)
"OERu aims to provide free university-level courses to all students worldwide using OER learning materials with the option to gain credible qualifications from recognized academic institutions."
Open Education Database (OEDb)
"EDb offers a comprehensive collection of free online courses from accredited universities. OEDb currently lists over 10,000 free open courses from universities such as MIT, the University of Michigan, and Johns Hopkins University."