Acervo MAG Seguros - Historical minutes of the board meetings of Montepio Geral de Economia dos Servants of the State (founded in 1835). These 43 digitised manuscripts chart the development of social security in Brazil from the beginning. They were recognised as a documentary heritage of humanity through the UNESCO Memory of the World Programme in 2017.
Alex - A full text indexed collection of classic American and English literature as well as Western philosophy, written or translated into English.
Baldwin Library of Historical Children's Literature – Fully digitized versions of some 6000 children's literature books and periodicals from the USA and Great Britain from the mid 1600s to the present.
Bartleby — The full text of many classic literary works, including Shakespeare.
Bible Gateway – The full text of approximately 100 versions of the Bible in 54 languages.
Blake Archive – This archive contains electronic copies of William Blake’s illuminated books, as well as a number of his illustrations, drawings, paintings and manuscript works.
CARRIE – This full-text electronic library hosted by the European University Institute in Italy, contains digitised primary documents as well as ebooks in history.
Cascadilla Proceedings Project – Linguistics conference proceedings from Cascadilla Press.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library - A digital library of hundreds of Christian books, including 42 Bibles in various languages.
CMI - Chr. Michelesen Institute is an independent development research institute in Norway which publishes freely available Reports, Working Papers and Briefs, mainly in the fields of anthropology, economics and political science.
Fabula / Colloques en ligne - The online proceedings of academic literary conferences, symposia, study days and round tables, focusing especially on issues of literary theory and epistemology.
Film Studies for Free - A list of open access ebooks on film studies.
Gaia (University of California) - A collection of 28 open access books on global, international and area studies.
Gallica – This site from the Bibliothque Nationale de France allows access to thousands of digitised books, mostly in French.
HSRC Press - South African open access publisher in social science. The Press publishes the research output of the Human Science Research Council and externally authored works. Many titles are free to download.
Literature Project – Collection of full-text books, poems, plays and speeches.
Luminos (UC Press) – Luminos is University of California Press’s Open Access publishing program for monographs. OA monographs will be available for online viewing as well as for download and will accommodate color images and interactive media such as maps, audio and visual material.
Making of America (Cornell University) - A digital library for American social history containing 267 digitised books from the 19th century, but focusing mostly on serials.
Making of America (Michigan University) - A digital library for American social history containing approximately 1,600 digitised books from 1850-1877.
ManyBooks – Classic texts can be downloaded to a range of formats including for a variety of ebook readers. New titles are added regularly and an RSS feed is available for new additions.
Open Arizona - A small collection of open-access University of Arizona Press titles in the Humanities.
Open Book Publishers - An independent academic publisher in Humanities and Social Sciences. Many of their books are available to read for free online.
OpenEdition Books - OpenEdition Books is a web platform for predominantly French-language books in the humanities and social sciences. More than half of them are available in Open Access.
Open SUNY Textbooks - An open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries. The textbooks are fully downloadable and cover subjects in Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences, Sciences and Technology.
Oxford Text Archive — The archive holds several thousand electronic texts and linguistics corpora, in a variety of languages. Includes online versions of works by individual authors, standard reference works and a range of language corpora.
Page by Page Books - Offers public domain ebooks to read online, presented as a series of web pages, so that individual pages can be bookmarked.
Penn State Romance Studies - An open access peer-reviewed monograph series in the languages, literatures, and cultures of the Romance languages.
Perseus Digital Library – A searchable and browsable collection of ebooks. The largest collections are classics and 19th century American studies, but other collections include Arabic, Germanic and Renaissance materials.
Refugee Rights Europe reports – Free reports from Refugee Rights Europe: a human rights organisation. Reports are based on research carried out into the experiences of more than 6000 refugees in Europe from 2016 to the present, covering France, the Greek Islands, the Italian-French border, Belgium, the UK, Germany and Spain.
Society of Antiquities of Scotland – As well as conference proceedings, the site provides access to out-of-print titles in this archaeological monograph series.
UNESDOC Digital Library - Global Education Monitoring Report – The Global Education Monitoring Report (the GEM Report, formerly known as the Education for All Global Monitoring Report) is an editorially independent, authoritative and evidence-based annual report published by UNESCO. Its mandate is to monitor progress towards the education targets in the new Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) framework.
University of London Press - A collection of open access titles in the arts and humanities, including classical studies, Latin American studies, literary criticism, and modern and medieval history.
University of Virginia Press: Rotunda - The Founders Early Access collection offers free full text to unpublished documents from the founders of the United States. These documents may change as further editorial work is undertaken, and once a document is published, it is removed from this site.
UVa Text Collection - A collection of digital documents central to teaching and research in the Humanities provided by the University of Virginia (formerly Etext Center). Some documents may only be available to University of Virginia users
Victorian Prose Archive - A collection of texts of scholarly interest by eight Victorian authors, including Matthew Arnold and Oscar Wilde.
Botanicus – A freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library. Currently includes over 1000 titles (books and journals) with an RSS feed available for recent additions. Images are free for non-commercial use.
FreeBooks4Doctors – This site provides access to 360 free medical books.
InTech — A multidisciplinary Open Access publisher of books and journals covering the fields of Science, Technology and Medicine with over 2000 ebooks available to date.
MSRI Books – A series of Mathematical Sciences Research Institute Pulications from Cambridge University Press. The full text of new books is available a few months after publication.
National Academies Press – Over 4000 titles from the US National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council are available to download. The free pdfs are available exclusively from the NAP site and remain subject to copyright laws.
NCBI Bookshelf – National Center for Biotechnology Information’s Bookshelf site provides free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
Open Book Project - A computer science textbook and series on electricity and electronics are available, as well as tutorials and courses.
O'Reilly Open Books Project - A collection of free ebooks in computer science.
American Memory - This historical collection includes 1,500 nineteenth century American ebooks in several subject areas.
Arabic Collections Online - Arabic Collections Online (ACO) is a publicly available digital library of public domain Arabic language content drawn from rich Arabic collections of distinguished research libraries.
Bookboon - Over 500 downloadable textbooks, mainly in the areas of Business/Economics, Engineering, Natural Sciences and IT, are available from this publisher of free ebooks.
Bookserver (Internet Archive) – A project of the Internet Archive. Access ebooks via the search box. Includes out-of-copyright texts from Project Gutenberg among other collections.
British Library “Turning the pages” – Facsimiles of a selection of books from the British Library’s collection are available, with software that can turn virtual pages. Alternative static versions are also available.
Chicago University Press free monthly ebook - A different ebook is available free each month from Chicago University Press.
Cornell University Library Digital Collections - An array of collections digitised and curated by Cornell University Library.
Digital Book Index – This index provides links to more than 165,000 ebooks covering a variety of subjects. Over 140,000 of these are free. The index can be searched and browsed.
Digital Library of India – Contains ebooks, ejournals and digitised manuscripts, predominantly in Indian languages.
DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books - Contains over 16,000 open access academic peer-reviewed books from over 300 publishers, including university presses.
E-Books Directory – A growing list of freely downloadable ebooks, documents and lecture notes. It is possible to search, browse by subject and see recently added or most popular titles.
Global Text Project - A collection of undergraduate e-textbooks available under a creative commons licence in business, computing, education, health, science and social science.
Google Books –Out-of-copyright books can be viewed online, and those in the public domain can be downloaded and saved.
HathiTrust — A collaborative repository from US research libraries, containing over 10 million digitised volumes. Not all are freely accessible, however over 2.5 million public domain digitised works can be downloaded.
Internet Archive Text Archive - Contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books.
MobileRead – As well as an online e-publishing forum, the ebooks tab provides access to free ebooks that can be downloaded to ebook readers.
Münchener Digitalisierungszentrum Digitale Bibliothek — Important rare books resource based mainly on the collections of the Bavarian State Library.
OAPEN Library (Open Access Publishing in European Networks) - A multidisciplinary Open Access library comprising of thousands of titles from European publishers freely available as PDF files, including titles in several languages. Includes 30 titles from UK publishers under the OAPEN-UK JISC ebooks project.
Ohio State University Press - Offers open access to a range of scholarly texts, particularly in literature and history.
Online Books Page – A regularly updated listing of over 1 million ebooks that are freely readable over the internet, maintained by the University of Pennsylvania Library.
Open Access Textbooks - The Resources tab contains links to websites that provide open access textbooks.
Open Library – A project of the Internet Archive, provides records for 20 million books, and access to 1.7 million scanned books. The search can be limited to ebooks only.
Open Textbook Library - These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
Perlego – The "spotify for learning books", this platform includes a large number of free ebooks in a range of subjects. You will need to create an account on the platform in order to use the free ebooks.
Project Gutenberg — A fully searchable collection of over 59,000 multi-language eBooks. Many classic titles and other formats such as audio books. It has a fully searchable online catalogue.
Questia - Over 5,000 classic and rare books available to read online for free.
River Publishers - Peer-reviewed, open access research monographs with an emphasis on STEM subjects (although other disciplines are covered).
UCL Press - Established as the UK’s first fully open access university press in 2015, UCL Press publishes both traditional peer-reviewed scholarly works and innovative research outputs.
Ulibros – Libros académicos y universitarios de Iberoamérica- A selection of multidisciplinary Open Access titles from Latin America.
University of Adelaide Press — An open access book publisher, the University of Adelaide Press operated between 2009-2018. While the Press is no longer active, its past publications remain available online. Many of the University Press books are available for free download, and some have an additional print version available for purchase.
University of California Press — Over 700 titles from UCP’s Scholarship Editions are available to the public. These include books on art, science, history, music, religion and fiction.
University of Genova Press - A multidisciplinary Open Access collection from University of Genova Press.
White Rose University Press —A small open access digital publisher of peer-reviewed academic journals and books, publishing across a wide range of academic disciplines. Run jointly by the Universities of Leeds, Sheffield and York.
Wikibooks - Multidisciplinary open-content textbooks, which can be edited by anyone. Many books are incomplete, however featured books are those that have been considered by the community to represent the best quality wikibooks.
Wikisource - Multidisciplinary open-content ebook library, which can be edited by anyone. These texts are available in many languages, and in translation, as well as in comic, film and audiobook form.
Anghelescu, Victoria; Gavrilă, Marian; Perovici, Minodora (2021). Istoria culturii universale în date (History of The Universal Culture). A chronology of cultural events from pre-history to the 21st century. This work is the culmination of a seven year project, and it is based on extensive studies of encyclopedias, a vast bibliography and correspondence with experts in the field.
Biblioteca de Catalunya (2017) Felip Pedrell a la Biblioteca de Catalunya: textos i entrevistes: Francesc Cortès ; coordinació de l'obra: Núria Altarriba. Generalitat de Catalunya, Departament de Cultura : Biblioteca de Catalunya.. The life and work of Felip Pedrell through the collections of the Biblioteca Nacional de Catalunya. The iTunes and Google Play versions include multimedia (e.g. recordings and images from the library's collections) as well as the narrative text.
Bibliothèque nationale de France (2014) Mémoires de Chibanis, coordination, Sylvie Dreyfus-Alphandéry. Bibliothèque nationale de France. . These are the memoirs of a group of elderly people who migrated to France in the 1950s-1980s, the product of a creative writing initiative held in Paris and supported by the Fonds Européen d'Intégration in 2014. A picture of the book cover is available.
Graña-Behrens, D. (ed.) (2016) Places of power and memory in Mesoamerica’s past and present: how sites, toponyms and landscapes shape history and remembrance. Gebr. Mann Verlag. This free volume is one of the 'Estudios Indiana' series presenting the results of research on multiethnic, indigenous, and Afro-American societies and cultures in Latin America, both contemporary and historical.
Ji, Yogi Anand. Prana Tattva (Koshas, Chakras, Kundalini). Self published. Discusses various ancient Meditation techniques.
McRae, J. R. and Nattier J. (eds.) (2012) Buddhism across boundaries: the interplay of Indian, Chinese, and Central Asian source materials . Fo Guang Shan Foundation for Buddhist and Culture Education. This volume is the product of a conference held in January 1993 at Hsi Lai Temple in Hacienda Heights, California, under the sponsorship of the Fo Guang Shan Foundation for Buddhist Culture Education and Hsi Lai University.
OECD (2015) Social impact investment: building the evidence base. OECD Publishing. This free report provides a framework for assessing the social impact investment market and focuses on the need to build the evidence base, in particular for impact assessment compared to existing social service delivery models.
Ruiz Estrada, M.A. (2012) An introduction to econographicology. Mario Arturo Ruiz Estrada. An academic at the University of Malaya has made this ebook freely available.
Saunders, P. (2010) Social mobility myths, Civitas. This book is freely available from the Institute of Civil Society's website.
Segrillo, A. (2020) The decline of the Soviet Union: an analysis of the causes. FFLCH/USP. This is the sixth book published under the auspices of the Center for Asian Studies (Laboratório de Estudos da Ásia-LEA) of the University of São Paulo; the third one in English for an international audience.
Segrillo, A. (2020) Karl Marx's 'Capital' (Vols. 1,2,3) abridged. FFLCH/USP. An abridged version of volumes 1, 2 and 3 of Capital by Karl Marx. This simplified version aims to provide an introductory alternative for all those who “give up before they begin” or “give up on the way” or read only Volume 1 when confronted with the immensity and complexity of this fundamental work by the German thinker.
Segrillo, A. (2020) Russia: Europe or Asia? FFLCH/USP. The question of Russia’s identity in the discussions between westernizers, slavophiles and Eurasianists and an analysis of the consequences in present-day Russia.
Tane Naumovski, A. (2007) Lerin in Mourning. Pollitecon Publications. Translated by Elizabeth Kolupacev Stewart, this title names and commemorates 2,056 Macedonian fighters who died for Macedonian freedom in the Greek Civil War. It is available to read online or to download as a PDF.
Tmka, R. and Lorencova, R. (2016) Quantum Anthropology: Man, Cultures and Groups in a Quantum Perspective. Charles University, Karolinum Press. A fresh look on man, cultures, and societies built on the current advances in the fields of quantum mechanics, quantum philosophy, and quantum consciousness. This free ebook was supported by the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports of the Czech Republic
Trnka, R., Balcar, K. and Kuska, M. (eds.) (2011) Re-constructing emotional spaces: from experience to regulation. Prague College of Psychosocial Studies Press. The publication of this book was supported by the Czech Science Foundation, and an electronic copy is freely available to read. It can also be downloaded.
Zalta, E.N. (continuously updated) Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, Stanford University. Available at: https://plato.stanford.edu/index.html (Accessed: 23 January 2019). An open access dynamic philosophy reference resource maintained by experts in the field.
Allwood, J. M. & Cullen, J. M. (2011) Sustainable materials : with both eyes open. Cambridge University Press. This book by academics from the Engineering Department at University of Cambridge examines the options for sustainable materials.
Altmann, S.L. & Herzig, P. (2011) Point-group theory tables (2nd ed.). S.L. Altmann & P. Herzig. The second edition of this book corrects ten errors made in the first edition that is held by some Cambridge libraries. It has been digitised by the University of Vienna.
Dinh, A. (2012) Narrative approaches to the international mathematical problems. Authorhouse. This book contains mathematical problems and solutions found in the Mathematical Olympiad competitions.
Homei, A. & Worboys, M. (2013) Fungal disease in Britain and the United States 1850-2000: mycoses and modernity. Palgrave Macmillan. Palgrave Macmillan's first published open access monograph, funded by The Wellcome Trust.
MacKay, D.J.C. (2009) Sustainable energy : without the hot air. IUT Cambridge Ltd. This book by an academic from the Physics Department at University of Cambridge discusses options for sustainable energy.
Mieczakowski, A. & Clarkson, J. (2012) Ageing, adaption and accessibility: time for the inclusive revolution!. Engineering Design Centre. The Engineering Design Centre at the University of Cambridge produced a book of thought pieces investigating why we continue to digitally disfranchise older people in the modern era.
Willimek, D. & Willimek, B. (2013) Music and emotions: research on the theory of musical equilibration (die Strebetendenz-Theorie). A study on the emotional impact of music, designed and conducted by Daniela and Bernd Willimek. Translated into English by Laura Russell.
